TODA

Private Residence in Lower Manhattan

An important criterion for this 3,500 sq. ft residential renovation project was honoring the owners’ family’s cultural heritage by making their collection of valuable Chinese artifacts and heirlooms a prominent element in the interior. The designer responded by incorporating the collection into the design of the central staircase. By creating a series of glass casings and shelving units throughout the perimeter of the staircase, the art pieces became an integral part of the everyday activity of going up and down between the residence’s two floors. The combination of antique art and the modernist approach to the structure created a look and experience that incorporated family history and traditions in a progressive environment.

Client

Private

Image

1 of 3 / view all

Tags

Architecture

Share

Send / Tweet / Like

Contact
TODA
New York:
20 Jay Street
Suite 828
Brooklyn NY 11201
United States

T 718 797 2302
F 718 797 2307
E newyork@toda.com
Hamburg:
Papenhuder Str. 49
D-22087 Hamburg
Deutschland


T 040 239596780
F 040 2395967819
E hamburg@toda.com
People
Samantha Bacani sbacani@toda.com Lydia Benova lbenova@toda.com Marcos Chavez mchavez@toda.com
Gazelle Frazier gfrazier@toda.com Thom Kajaba tkajaba@toda.com Bryan McCartney bmccartney@toda.com
Mark Naden mcnaden@toda.com Sage Smith ssmith@toda.com Rebecca Tarr rtarr@toda.com

Copyright © 2017 TODA | Read the latest news and information from TODA.